About Us

Live better, live smarter, happier and live longer

Longevity is a multi-media content platform based on authenticated health, wellness and positive aging therapies from all over the world. Helping you live better, live smarter, happier and for longer.

Longevity is available in a high quality printed magazine and digital format and online at www.longevitylive.com. The company also hosts regular health, wellness events and retreats.

Kathy Keeton

The Art And Science Of Staying Young

Longevity was launched in magazine format in 1989 by Kathy Keeton. Born and raised on a farm in South Africa, she met her future husband Bob Guccione at the age of 24 in London.  They moved to the United States where she helped him to build a multi-million dollar business empire. Kathy was appointed President and Chief Operating Officer of General Media Communications, Inc.  She founded the magazines Viva (1973), Omni (1978), and Longevity (1989 in the USA). She also wrote two non-fiction books, Woman of Tomorrow (1986) and Longevity: The Science of Staying Young (1992).

Longevity was launched in South Africa in 1993.  Sadly Kathy was diagnosed with breast cancer during this time.  Despite her trailblazing experimental cancer treatment regime,  she died in 1997 from other complications during surgery.

Today the Longevity media franchise is owned by the Aegle Group (Pty)  an independent, privately owned media company, led by founder Gisèle Wertheim Aymés

The group has other investments in media. Gisele is a well respected media professional in her own right and a self-professed health activist. Readers can interact with her  (@giselewaymes) as well as the Longevity brand on many different platforms. Online and through social media on Facebook on Twitter @longevitymag  and Instagram @Longevity-Live and attend regular health events.

Longevity

Longevity has been recognised over the years for publishing excellence. The team were awarded the industry’s most coveted magazine award programme –  PICA – for best consumer Health magazine.

The team have been  involved in many related health initiatives, including the media sponsorship of the World Congress on Healthy Aging which took place in South Africa in 2015  and the launch of the WellUp Challenge, a nine month virtual weight loss and wellness programme. In 2017, Longevity launched #BarefootintheKitchen a multi-media healthy eating series as well as #ActiveForLife, a social responsibility project with PEISA.co.za.

Meet The Longevity Team

Director:  Gisèle Wertheim Aymés  – Gisele@longevitymag.co.za

Digital Director:  Jacques Cilliers – Jacques@longevitymag.co.za

Managing Editor, Beauty and Fitness: Marina Wildt – Marina@longevitymag.co.za

Art Director: Susan Grey – Susan@Longevitymag.co.za

Editorial Assistants

Pierrette Mulumba:  Pie@longevitymag.co.za

Johane van den Berg: johane@longevitymag.co.za

For Sales and Marketing:

Sales and Administration: Fay Graham Parker – Fay@longevitymag.co.za

Cape Town: Jacelize Rust: jacelize.olivetree@gmail.com

National Direct: Lynne Marcus: Lynne@longevitymag.co.za

Administration and Finance: Robert Hood – Robert@longevitymag.co.za

Subscriptions: Shobha Lalla – Shobha@longevitymag.co.za

For any other queries please contact

Email: editor@longevitymag.co.za

“Longevity is about  not merely to slow down the aging process, but to help people of all ages lead useful, happy and more active lives.” “If you want a longer, more active life, the time to start is now. It doesn’t matter if you are 18, 28, 48 or 80. The earlier you start redesigning your lifestyle to increase your lifespan, the better. “  Kathy Keeton, founder of Longevity magazine USA.

SUBSCRIBE TO A DIGITAL COPY OF LONGEVITY MAGAZINE TODAY click to:  Zinio

 

 

 

5 Comments